Moodle

How can I backup my courses before being removed from the system?

1.Click on the course you need to backup from your Moodle Main Page.
2.From the Settings block, click on Backup 
 
3.Follow the backup wizard:

  • Under Initial Settings:you can include activities,  blocks and filters options. click Next to continue
  • Under Schema Settings:  all or part of your course materials could be selected.The system excludes any related user data.  Click Next
  • Under Confirmation and Review: This page confirms all previous selections and displays the backup file name. Click Perform Backup to continue
  • When the backup file is successfully created,  then you have reached the end of your Backup Wizard steps.Click Continue to download your backup file to your machine
 
4.From this page, you can manage your backup files, save it to your machine, flash memory, or external drive.  

I need to copy course content of my previous semester into a course I am currently teaching?

1. You will need to restore the course you have previously taught, to select the material you wish to use in your current course.
2. Your previous course should be backed up and stored as a .mbz file on your computer. If you don’t have the file stored, kindly fill in this form.
3. Then follow the steps below

1.Login to your Moodle Account
2.Choose the course you wish to restore content to
3.Click Restore under the Settings block
 
4.From Import a Backup file option, click on choose a file…  
5.From the File Picker, click Upload a File and browse your machine for the backed up course.  Select it, then press Upload this file
6.After the file is being selected, click the Restore button
 
7. Follow the Wizard steps

  • Confirm tab:  shows you content of your backedup course
  • Destination tab: choose Restore into this course option, if you wish to move the content into the course you are currently in.  Choose the Restore into an existing course, if you wish to restore into another Moodle course.
  • Click Next to continue
  • Inthe Review tab, review the files and content that you will restore and click Perform Restore
  • When you reach the Complete tab, your selected content will appear in your existing course.